Announcing this year’s Australia Day award nominees

Published on Friday, 20 January 2023 at 1:29:50 PM

The Shire of Coolgardie has received a record-breaking number of nominations from the communities of Coolgardie and Kambalda for a variety of categories in this year’s Australia Day Awards.

The awards recognise individuals who have made outstanding contributions to their communities, with the Youth Award for nominees under the age of 25, the Citizen Award for nominees over the age of 25, the Community Group or Event Award for a group, organisers, or committee of an event held within the Shire, and the Corporate Citizen Award presented to a business or organisation.

Jess Higgins, Coolgardie’s 2022 Citizen of the Year, encourages her fellow citizens within the Shire to take the time to nominate their friends, family, and colleagues who are making a difference in their communities. “It’s important for each of us to be actively involved in the community and supporting events such as this one within our Shire,” says Jess.

“As a small community, we need to look out for one another and continue legacies. Small commitments from each of us make a huge difference.”

This year’s award winners will be announced at a special ceremony held on Australia Day next Thursday, January 26.

Coolgardie Nominees

We are pleased to confirm the nominees within the community of Coolgardie and Widgiemooltha for the following award categories:

Citizen Award

Nakia (Nik) Cullen
Corey Matthews
Roy Bergin
Jan McLeod
Drew Goddard
Sheree Forward
Steven Forward
Ann Meagher
Irene Walker
William Kirk
Jim Miles
Vic Dale
Meghan Kent
Shane Munro

Youth Award

Nakiyah Herman
George McLean
Janelle Shilton

Community Group or Event

KMs & Convos for R U OK
Coolgardie Volunteer Fire and Rescue Services
Coolgardie Day
Coolgardie Rodeo -Bodean Buckingham

Kambalda Nominees

We are pleased to confirm the nominees within the community of Kambalda for the following award categories:

Citizen Award

Valerie Whittaker
Morgan Baker
Kaitlyn Foale
Chris Larkin
Peter Miller
Kane Piggott
Maria Bitel
Godfrey Patten
Kevin Caldwell

Youth Award

Taikata Puru Manukau

Corporate Award

Kambalda Hotel and Nickel Bar
Pitbull Services

Community Group or Event

Kambalda Volunteer Fire & Rescue Services
Kambalda West Playgroup
Kambalda Police Station Blue Light Discos

The Shire of Coolgardie’s Australia Day Awards are supported by the Australian Government through the National Australia Day Council.

Back to All News