Shire of Coolgardie Attractions

Warden Finnerty’s Residence

Warden Finnerty's Residence is one of the early buildings built by the Bunnings brothers, who's hardware company went on to be one of Australia's largest retail chains. A beautiful old house built of local stone in 1895 for Coolgardie's first Resident Magistrate and Mining Warden, John Michael Finnerty. During a visit here you can walk through the rooms, with lovely antique furnishings and chinaware on display, to capture the feeling of life in the late 1890's.

Glory Days Trail

Coolgardie Glory Days Heritage Trail is an interactive self-guided tour guide. Coolgardie Boom to Bust Heritage Trail is a self-drive/walk which has over 70 markers placed at significant sites around the Coolgardie Community, each with detailed descriptions and old photographs highlighting the historical sites. The markers provide a snapshot of what the town was like in the 1890s.
Markers 1-17 have audio narration read by James Hagan and really bring the spaces to life.

Lions Lookout

Lion’s Lookout is the view Arthur Bayley and William Ford had when they first arrived in the area and discovered gold. The lookout offers panoramic views to the east of the town. It is also where the original head frame from the famous “Bailey’s Reward” gold mine is re-erected.

Ben Prior Park

Ben Prior Park is a free open-air museum named from its founder Mr Benjamin Austin Prior. Ben came to Coolgardie with his wife and five children in 1932, liked what he saw and two years later set up his garage (next to the park).

The park contains statues built by Ben himself, along with the wagons that bought the Sisters of Mercy Nurses to Coolgardie during the Typhoid epidemic situated among the many items relating to the gold mining history of the town and many of the pieces Ben found out bush while prospecting.

Railway Station

The Coolgardie Railway Station was opened on March 23rd, 1896. Traffic in the early period included a train each way, each day to and from Perth, and was one of the busiest stations in the state.

The building itself is made of stone and brick with a ribbed iron roof, similar in design and detail to other railway stations of the period in the state. The last passenger train to pass through Coolgardie was the evening express from Kalgoorlie to Perth on November 28th, 1971 and was farewelled by local citizens. After its life as a train station, it was run as a museum but is now closed. It is still a beautiful building with a locomotive on the tracks to view.

Coolgardie Cemetery

Much of Coolgardie's fascinating history can be read on the headstones of the Pioneer Cemetery used between 1892-1894, and the Coolgardie Cemetery which is still in use today. As typhoid raced through the town in the early goldrush days, many people died without their identity being recorded. There are famous people including explorer Ernest Giles, Bertha Finnerty and Tagh Mahomed buried here along side the unknown. The grave of our better known ghost, Elizabeth Gold, can be found at the Coolgardie Cemetery, buried near the resting place of her murderer.

Wallaroo Rocks

This conservation park is a 1,214 hectare area featuring three historic fresh waters dams that catch water from the granite rock. The water was used for the steam engines of the 1920s called the ‘woodlines’ era. Access to the park is a 39km 4WD track off the Great Eastern Highway, 64km west of Coolgardie. There are campsites, tables, BBQs, disabled access toilet and an information shelter. Please note that pets are not permitted, baits are used in the area and all vehicles must stay on the designated roads.

Rowles Lagoon

Rowles Lagoon is a Conservation Park that is also a popular recreation destination for Goldfields families, visitors and tourists. It is the largest freshwater lake in the Coolgardie bioregion and the lagoon and surrounding areas are a bird waters paradise. They are culturally and environmentally significant and are included in Australia’s register of significant wetlands. The wetlands are an important cultural site for local Aboriginal people and the story of the site is told at the interpretation shelter. There is plenty of sightseeing, swimming and nature observation to be done here, along with tables, toilets, camping sites and BBQs, Rowles Lagoon makes for a wonderful area to go camping with the family of if you just want to get away from it all. It is located 73km north of Coolgardie. Please note that pets are not permitted.

Credo Station

Formerly a pastoral lease established in the early 1900s, Credo is now managed by the Parks and Wildlife Service WA and offers visitors a great opportunity to experience the area with a day or camping trip. With over 200,000 hectares to explore, visitors to the area can sightsee, bushwalk, see the wildflowers and birdlife, snap some great photos and go yabbying in the dams. Credo is also home to a multi-purpose field study centre engaged in environmental research. Credo is located 75km North of Coolgardie. Please note that pets are not permitted, and care should be taken around any mining activity.

Coolgardie Gorge

Just to the south east of Coolgardie along the Coolgardie-Esperance Highway, the Gorge was once an important water source to the local population prior to the completion of the ‘Golden Pipeline’. It is now a spot to enjoy a picnic under a shady gum tree, watch the sunset or possibly spot some birds or other wildlife coming in for a drink.

Coolgardie Bluff Walk Trail

On the north-east of the Coolgardie townsite, the Bluff Walk Trail includes heritage signage and explains the cultural significance of the area to the local Indigenous people. With iron sculptures to see and beautiful look out points along the way, this trail is also a dog friendly space.

Burra Rock Conservation Reserve

Step into the past at Burra Rock where examples of pioneering ingenuity and rusted relics tell intriguing stories of the Goldfields' diverse history.

A catchment wall and dam on the edge of the rock are reminders of area’s vibrant history during the 1920s and 30s. These were built to collect water for the steam trains that hauled timber and firewood along bush railways to the mines, boilers and powerhouses in Kalgoorlie-Boulder. The woodlands have since regrown and now are recognised internationally for their biological diversity. After the woodcutting ceased and the rail lines were dismantled, the water catchment at Burra Rock attracted other pioneers to the region. A collection of abandoned machinery and rusted relics from a small farming venture at Burra Rock in the 1960s can be found in the picnic area.

Visitors are urged not to drive off tracks or on the rock, as historic features and fragile communities of granite plants and animals and are easily damaged. 

Cave Hill

One of the largest and highest granite outcrops in the region, Cave Hill provides an area to explore ancient cave formations and pioneering ingenuity with the historic woodline dams on the outcrop. Follow the bushland walking trails to discover all Cave Hill has to offer.

Gnarlbine Soak

Located 23km south of Coolgardie on Victoria Rock Road, Gnarlbine Soak was originally an Aboriginal waterhole. Explorer HM Lefroy made the discovery of this important water source for pioneers and prospectors in 1863, it was given its name in 1865 by CC Hunt.


At Kunanalling you will find the ruins of the hotel that once housed 800 prospectors at a time. All that remains of the stone hotel are its ruins and its three prominent chimneys. Situated 32 km north of Coolgardie on Coolgardie North Road.

Red Hill Lookout

Kambalda's Red Hill Lookout and walking trail offers an easy walk up to the summit where you will be rewarded for your efforts with a magnificent view right across the expanse of Lake Lefroy, one of the regions most spectacular shimmering white salt lakes. Undercover picnic tables are provided.